>North Pole Bar, Duluth, MN

I’m not sure how we found this bar. It’s not an area we are ever in. It’s not on or near any major road. I sometimes think my husband has a seventh sense when it comes to finding these out of the way places. We don’t come here often but I’m not sure why we keep going back. There’s nothing special about the bar. The size of the interior is average to small. The actual bar is tiny compared to most that we’ve seen. But…

The drinks are pretty decent and this last time we were there, were pretty darn cheap. He paid $6.25 for Smirnoff and CC and they were pretty decent pours. Or at least mine was. They did have a bloody Mary bar but it kinda looked icky. I guess ‘messy’ is more the right word. Like it got stampeded and no one bothered to clean it up or replenish anything.

 

I hesitate to use the word ‘quaint’ but that’s kind of what it is. It’s definitely has a neighborhood bar feel to it. There’s a picture of the original owner hanging over all the bottles of booze. But as the bartender was more interested in talking to his friends/regulars at the end of the bar that’s all I was able to find out. 

There’s a restaurant right next to the bar. I would guess from the sign above that they’re owned by the same person (or were) but I’ve never seen the restaurant open. Which is a shame because it looks exactly like the kind of greasy spoon place we’d love. And we’re always looking for somewhere new to have breakfast in the Twin Ports.   

 

One sort of odd thing, or so my man tells me…they have Grain Belt on tap. I know nothing of beer but he assures me that this is quite rare.

One response to “>North Pole Bar, Duluth, MN

  1. the North Pole Bar is a great little spot to get drinks. I like that it is off the main path, and a little bit of a dive bar, but it has a distinct character and feel. I personally love it!

Leave a Reply

